Barack Obama and his stealing of words

You would think that our President would be the last person to steal ideas from another person. Being the President should mean that you live your life to a “higher” standard than everyone else, at least from a moral perspective. 

The situation in question occurred on February 16th, 2008. Barack allegedly “quoted” words and phrases from well-known documents from U.S. history including ideas from Martin Luther King, John F. Kennedy, and even the Declaration of Independence. Of course, Barack Obama also made his speech look surprisingly similar to Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick, by using similar words and phrases. If both Barack’s and Deval’s speeches are compared side-by-side, it is clearly seen that the two speeches are really close to each other. Barack continued, saying that he and Deval were really close and that basically he wouldn’t mind if he used a few ideas of his. Later, Obama said that he probably should have given Deval credit for his words, but he just didn’t get around to it this time, and that he was to do it next time for sure. I think that’s messed up.

Personally, I think this is wrong. A speech should be one’s own thoughts and ideas, not something that someone else has already said. Sure, a speech could be supported with outside information, but that information should be information that is obtained in a moral manner. It shouldn’t be taken and then willfully used as one’s own work, even when the person knows that the work is not theirs. If you write, and use others ideas, cite it correctly, or people will be coming for you. 

Citation:

Bailey, Jonathan. “The Obama Plagiarism Scandal.” Plagarism Today. N.p., n.d. Web. 4 Nov. 2013. <http://www.plagiarismtoday.com/2008/02/20/the-obama-plagiarism-scandal/&gt;.

6 thoughts on “Barack Obama and his stealing of words

  1. This is true. In an idillic world the President would be held to a higher standard of morality. Though it is encouraging that the President is quoting the declaration of independence and Martin Luther King Jr. Both are rather respectable sources they are also so well known that they are on the level of common knowledge. Something interesting to think about, how many people need to know something before it is common knowledge. I love arbitrary lines to determine things. They are so malleable. You’re right though, the President shouldn’t be committing plagiarism.

  2. I never heard about this before. You did great at the summarizing and expressed your viewpoint clearly. People may have similar attitudes towards one topic. That is fine. However, it is not right or ethical that expressing your idea by using other people quotes and pretends everything is yours.

  3. I really like how you started this post off. I completely agree with you. I believe that this is wrong. If someone is talking, they should be expressing their own opinion and not one of someone else’s. Obama says that he should have given Deval more credit, but that does not make up for the fact that he took his ideas. Like you said, when you use someone else’s ideas, they need to be cited, so that everyone can be happy and be receiving the correct information.

  4. I agree with you, the president should be a little more thoughtful about what he says in his speeches. I was actually very surprised to find out that president Obama plagiarized. Out of all people, I never expected the president to do such a thing.
    Well known quotes should always be cited. Obama should have also given credit to his friend, just because you are friends doesn’t mean that the ideas belong to you.
    This actually happened with my sister once, I used one of her ideas as my own. I guess I didn’t think it was such a big crime because she is so close to me; in the end I gave her credit (I hope).
    I feel like we often times plagiarize unconsciously, but it’s important to keep in mind the importance of crediting others for their ideas.

  5. What is really his thoughts? I’m sure he wouldn’t make the same stupid mistake twice, but you never know. But I agree with what you said, its ridiculous that he would think that this is okay.

    (my comment posted before I was done, so, yeah.)

Leave a comment